I too loaned

big-rain-drops-on-green-leavesI could wear my diamonds

But I loaned them to sky

To twinkle away at night.

 

My string of pearls is missing

Hidden safe in the shells

Of many oysters in sea.

 

The flowers that should have bloomed

In my vacant vases

Are adorning branches of plants.

 

The colors of my dress

Are painting the sky

With the brushes of the rainbow.

 

I loaned my singing to the cuckoo

To soar and sing, far and wide

Touching edges of the universe.

 

I loaned my thirst

To the first monsoon showers

And leaves drenched in the rain.

 

The joys I get back

From songs and stars, rainbows and rain

Are entirely mine.

 

 

Leave a Reply

