No Compromises, No Adjustments

If I change my opinions

My likes and dislikes, for you

It is not a compromise.

If I change myself for you

It is not an adjustment.

I am not doing so only for peace

I am not doing so only for happiness

I am not doing so because I am a doormat.

I do it because I respect you

I do it because I respect our relationship

I do it because I understand

It is for “us”.

I do not stand on the rooftops

To announce my change

Because I did not do anybody a favor

I did change myself because I wanted to

Not because I was asked to.

2 thoughts on “No Compromises, No Adjustments

  1. Hi! Loved reading your poems! Btw, sorry to disturb you, I’m new to WP do you think you could check out my blog and leave a comment. I’d love some help from someone more experienced as you! Keep it up! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

