Eyes of a Tourist

We travel to seek

Change from the routine

The mundane every day things

Seeking to experience different things

Places and people,

Food and culture

So different from our own.

I ponder for a minute and ask

My excitement over differences

Is it mundane for the local?

One who is living at that far off distant place

Eating the exotic every day.

Is life not the same for him

Day after day, year after year

Until he escapes on tour like me

May be to my place

Which became a routine to me?

If only I can see my place

With the eyes of a tourist

Will I see it in a different light?

Not so mundane, not so routine

Exciting and comfortable at the same.

Leave a Reply

