Stranger on the train

I did not know you much

But you were there

When I needed someone

To listen to me.

To listen without any judgement

So that things are clear

In my mind.

We shared a short ride

On the train

We did not know

Each other before

Nor will we meet again.

For the evening

We spent together

I have enough memories

Of the things we shared.

Starting with tea

Tempered with tales,

Then the samosa

Simple and satisfying

Wisdom and wit

Came with the window seat.

That I did not know you

And will not meet you again

Made me honest with myself

I told what I needed to hear.

An Ode to the second class train travel and the friend ships made in days of yonder, before the cell phones, when we actually shared a conversation with a stranger.

Leave a Reply

